Skip to content

Winter CSA!

November 3, 2011

Just yesterday I received my last delivery from my first subscription to a CSA program.  I was so sad to see it arrive, knowing it wouldn’t be until next June that I’d get another delivery.  This has been the single biggest improvement in our diet at home — having fresh vegetables delivered every week!  And knowing that they are local, grown organically, and by someone I know makes it so much better.  I haven’t even gotten around to posting the “last” picture here, but I wanted to share some excellent news — the farmer wrote an email last night asking who would be interested in a Winter CSA!!!  She has a greenhouse set up with tons of veggies growing all winter, and she’s only going to be going to a nearby Winter Farmer’s Market every other week and worries that she will have too many vegetables on her hands.  She is also going to offer an egg share and maybe even meats.  Check out what she is considering offering in her baskets every week (or maybe every other week):

 

Broccoli
Cauliflower (white, green, orange & purple)
Green Onions
Carrots
Radish
Spinach
Lettuce  (both leaf and sweet or spicey mix)
Some Beets
Some Turnips
Turnip Greens
Mustard Greens
Kale
Celery (till January or so)
Brussel Sprouts (till end of December or January)
Grape Tomatoes starting in February
Small Tomatoes starting in February
Each basket would contain one of the following each week.
Pastry Flour
Bread Flour
Dried Mixed Beans
Black Beans
Corn Grits
Corn Meal
Multi-grain Pancake Mix
Homemade Whole Wheat Pasta (i.e. Fetticini, spagetti, bow tie, etc), some infused with spinach
Homemade Whole Wheat Tortillas  (some infused with tomato)
Pumpkin Whoopie Pies
Persimmon Fudge
10 eggs share would be up for grabs.
We would consider offering meat shares as well.  Meats available would be lamb, ground beef, pastured poultry and rabbit. 
Am I interested?  You bet!!!  I’ve already responded and she let me know 5 others have responded in kind as well!  By Monday I’ll know if I’m able to continue this wonderful journey into better food and health.  Keep your fingers crossed for us!
4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2011 12:07 am

    I received my first Winter CSA delivery today and I’m loving it. We get 4 deliveries every other week, which means I’ll have local produce through the end of the year, which I think is quite impressive for Wisconsin 🙂

  2. May 29, 2012 12:41 pm

    Congrats you are my 700th follower, Thank you very much for follow me.

Leave a Reply

